Sabine Folie

University Professorship for Performance Art and Time-related Media Art

At the University of Art and Design Linz the 2020 summer semester will see the beginning of teaching within the framework of the university professorship Performance Art and Time-related Media Art. Sabine Folie holds the professorship.

The transdisciplinary professorship focuses on various forms of appropriation, image politics and exhibition formats concerning mediality, performativity and theatricality within the visual arts, film, performance, dance and actions. Particular emphasis is placed on performance and re-enactment practices, as well as aspects of collecting, conserving and exhibiting, of ephemeral art forms in particular. The shifts within the notion of the work of art since modernism, the post-avantgarde and a "fluid" late modernism are of relevance here, as well as questions about the participatory, reception aesthetics and the curatorial. Criticisms of technology, society and gender politics will be examined from the perspectives of film studies, apparatus theory, psychoanalysis, anthropology and theories of cultural studies. Finally, aspects of artistic research will explore the boundary areas between art and science.

 

Biography

Sabine Folie is an art historian, author, and independent curator. She is the Director of the VALIE EXPORT Center Linz, Research Center for Media and Performance Art and Professor for Performance Art and Time-related Media Art. She was Guest Professor of Theory at the MFA Programme Public Art and New Artistic Strategies at Bauhaus-Universität Weimar. She was the Director of the Generali Foundation, Vienna, from 2008 until March 2014, and Chief Curator at Kunsthalle Wien from 1998 until 2008.

Exhibitions and publications on (selection): VALIE EXPORT (1994, 2017-2019), Rodney Graham (1999), Marcel Broodthaers (2003), Eva Hesse (2004), Dorothy Iannone/Lee Lozano (2006), Ree Morton (2008, Generali Foundation, and 2015 at Reina Sofia, Madrid), Ana Torfs (2010), Danica Dakic (2010), Morgan Fisher (2012), Ulrike Grossarth (2014), and Ernst Caramelle (2018/19, mumok, Vienna). Thematic exhibitions include: A Baroque Party. Moments of World Theater in Contemporary Art (2001) featuring work by Paul Thek, Yvonne Rainer, Ulrike Grossarth, et al.; Tableaux Vivants. Living Pictures and Attitudes in Photography, Film and Video (2002); The Impossible Theater (2005); Un Coup de Dés. Writing Turned Image. An Alphabet of Pensive Language (2008); Modernism as a Ruin. An Archaeology of the Present (2009); unExhibit (2011), and others. From 2017 onwards several exhibitions on the archive of VALIE EXPORT at LENTOS Kunstmuseum, Linz, Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, Berlin and VOX, Montreal. Upcoming: Hommage à VALIE EXPORT, LENTOS, Linz (May 2020).

Lecture

"Superimposition": Überlagerungen in Praktiken des Kuratierens und Archivierens

04/05/2019, 11.20
Sabine Folie
Academy of Media Arts Cologne

Lecture a part of the symposium Photographic Materials: Archives and Tools in the program Future of the Archives / Archives of the Future. An event of the Academy of Media Arts Cologne, the International Photoscene Cologne and the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Photographie (DGPh).

more information >>

Lecture

Idiosynkrasie und Systematik in Künster_innenarchiven. Fallbeispiel: VALIE EXPORT Center Linz

26/04/2019, 11.00
Sabine Folie
StifterHaus Linz

Lecture as part of the symposium entitled Logics of the Collection. The Archive between Strategy and Self-Dynamics, the fourth in a series of five events entitled "Literature and Archive".

more information >>

Sabine Folie

Universitätsprofessur für Performance und zeitbezogene Medien

An der Kunstuniversität Linz beginnt im Sommersemester 2020 die Lehre im Rahmen der Universitätsprofessur „Performance und zeitbezogene Medien“. Professorin ist Sabine Folie.

Schwerpunkte der transdisziplinär angelegten Professur liegen auf den Aneignungsformen, Bildpolitiken und Ausstellungsformaten des Medialen, Performativen und Theatralen in bildender Kunst, Film, Performance, Tanz und Aktionen mit Augenmerk auf Aufführungs- und Wiederaufführungspraktiken (Re-enactment) sowie Aspekte des Sammelns, Konservierens und Ausstellens besonders auch ephemerer Kunstformen. Dabei sind die Veränderung des Werkbegriffs in der Moderne, Postavantgarde und „fluiden“ Spätmoderne, partizipatorische, rezeptionsästhetische und kuratorische Fragestellungen von Relevanz. Technik-, Gesellschaftskritik und Geschlechterpolitik sollen aus den Blickwinkeln von Filmwissenschaft, Apparatustheorie, Psychoanalyse, Anthropologie und kulturwissenschaftlichen Ansätzen beleuchtet werden. Aspekte künstlerischer Forschung loten schließlich die Grenzbereiche zwischen Kunst und Wissenschaft aus.

 

Biografie

Sabine Folie ist Kunsthistorikerin, Autorin und freischaffende Kuratorin. Sie ist Direktorin des VALIE EXPORT Center Linz Forschungszentrum für Medien- und Performancekunst und Professorin für Performance und zeitbezogene Medien an der Kunstuniversität Linz. Sie lehrte Theorie an der Bauhaus Universität Weimar im Rahmen des MFA Public Art and New Artistic Strategies (2017-19). Von 2008 bis 2014 war sie Direktorin der Generali Foundation, Wien und von 1998 bis 2008 Chefkuratorin der Kunsthalle Wien.

Ausstellungen und Publikationen (Auswahl) zu VALIE EXPORT (1994, 2017-2019), Rodney Graham (1999), Marcel Broodthaers (2003), Eva Hesse (2004), Dorothy Iannone/Lee Lozano (2006), Ree Morton (2008 an der Generali Foundation, Wien und 2015 an der Reina Sofia, Madrid), Ana Torfs (2010), Danica Dakic (2010), Morgan Fisher (2012), Ulrike Grossarth (2014) und Ernst Caramelle (2018/19, mumok, Wien). Thematische Ausstellungen: Eine barocke Party. Momente des Welttheaters in der zeitgenössischen Kunst (2001) mit Werken von Paul Thek, Yvonne Rainer, Ulrike Grossarth, et al.; Tableaux Vivants. Lebende Bilder und Attitüden in Fotografie, Film und Video (2002); Das unmögliche Theater (2005); Un Coup de Dés. Bild gewordene Schrift. ABC einer nachdenklichen Sprache (2008); Die Moderne als Ruine. Eine Archäologie der Gegenwart (2009); unExhibit (2011). Von 2017 bis 2019 Ausstellungen zum Archiv von VALIE EXPORT im LENTOS Kunstmuseum, Linz, Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, Berlin und VOX, Montreal. Vorschau: Hommage à VALIE EXPORT, LENTOS, Linz (Mai 2020).

Vortrag

„Superimposition": Überlagerungen in Praktiken des Kuratierens und Archivierens

04.05.2019, 11:20 Uhr
Sabine Folie
Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln

Ein Vortrag im Rahmen des Symposiums Photographic Materials: Archives and Tools im Programm Zukunft der Archive / Archive der Zukunft. Eine Veranstaltung der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln, der Internationalen Photoszene Köln und der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Photographie (DGPh).

Mehr dazu >>

Vortrag

Idiosynkrasie und Systematik in Künster_innenarchiven. Fallbeispiel: VALIE EXPORT Center Linz

26.04.2019, 11 Uhr
Sabine Folie
StifterHaus Linz

Ein Vortrag im Rahmen des Symposiums mit dem Titel Logiken der Sammlung. Das Archiv zwischen Strategie und Eigendynamik, die vierte der auf fünf Veranstaltungen angelegten Reihe „Literatur und Archiv“.

Mehr dazu >>