Archival Glimpses

Two display cases at the VALIE EXPORT Center Linz with contents that change every three months provide insights into the Archive on the basis of physical documents from the premature legacy.

 

Archival Glimpses, Take 3 

01.09. – 30.11.2018

The artist as Moderator

  1. Acta Occidentia Scientia. Project Study [alpha]) Temporal Structure: Identity

    "I want to do a publication (the opportunity exists) which shall exhibit one simultaneous quarter-hour in the lives of artists I personally know, as I believe that from the diversity of artists I am acquainted with, from the variety of their activities during the same time period, a statement can be deduced about the state of the arts in 1970, on art's relationship with society, its relationship with life, that of artists with their work, a statement about artists and about life as such. Aside from this, to me it also seems to be a collective book style that is very interesting and entertaining.
    For this purpose, please make a note of the date
    19 Dec. 1970
    20:15 – 20:30."
    (VALIE EXPORT)

  2. Action Art International
    In 1988, VALIE EXPORT produced the documentary Action Art International for the ORF, which, starting from the post-war era and a group of artists who dealt with it, presents an outline of international Action Art from the 1950s through the present (1989).
    “Whilst the majority of the population disregarded ideological issues and turned towards a purely economic reconstruction, small and isolated groups of artists and thinkers tried to comprehend the causes of the European crisis, and to find new approaches by engaging themselves with superseded and forgotten schools of art and thought. A neo-avantgarde began.”
    (VALIE EXPORT, from the film script, 1989)

Archival Glimpses

Im dreimonatlichen Wechsel erlauben zwei Vitrinen im VALIE EXPORT Center Linz Einblicke in das Archiv anhand physischer Dokumente aus dem Vorlass.

Archival Glimpses, Take 3 

01.09. – 30.11.2018

Die Künstlerin als Moderatorin

  1. Acta Occidentia Scientia. Projekt Studie [alpha]) Zeitstruktur: Identität, 1971
    „ich möchte gern eine publikation machen (möglichkeit ist vorhanden), das eine simultane viertel stunde aus dem leben mir bekannter künstler ausstellen soll, weil ich annehme, daß aus der vielfalt der mit bekannten künstler, aus der vielfalt derer aktivitäten im selben zeitabschnitt eine aussage interpretiert werden kann über den stand der künste 1970, über das verhältnis der künste zur gesellschaft, der kunst zum leben, der künstler zu ihrem werk, eine aussage über künstler und über das leben schlechthin. außerdem erscheint es mir ungeachtet dessen der stil eines kollektiven buches, das sehr interessant und amüsant ist.
    Zu diesem zweck bitte ich den termin
    19. dez. 1970
    20 uhr 15 – 20 uhr 30
    Vorzumerken.“
    (VALIE EXPORT)
  2. Aktionskunst International
    1988 produziert VALIE EXPORT für den ORF die Dokumentation Aktionskunst International, die ausgehend von der Nachkriegszeit und deren Aufarbeitung durch eine Gruppe von Künslter_innen, einen Abriss der Aktionskunst international seit den 1950er-Jahren bis in die Gegenwart (1989) darstellt.
    „Während sich das Gros der Bevölkerung unbekümmert um ideologische Probleme dem rein wirtschaftlichen Aufbau zuwandte, versuchten kleine isolierte Gruppen von Künstlern und Denkern die Ursachen der europäischen Krise zu ergründen und in der Auseinandersetzung mit verdrängten und vergessenen Kunst- und Denkrichtungen neue Ansatzpunkte zu finden. Eine Neo-Avantgarde begann.“
    (VALIE EXPORT, aus dem Skript zum Film, 1989)