ANAGRAMMATIC BODIES
Hommage à VALIE EXPORT

Conference
13 – 15/05/2020
VALIE EXPORT Center Linz

In 1999, VALIE EXPORT drafts a screenplay titled The Virtual Body. From the Prosthetic to the Post-biological Body, where she compiles insights, visions, and projections regarding the history of the (virtual) body from the Middle Ages through to the present. However, lack of funding prevents its becoming a reality. This script is now available, edited, provided with an extensive annotation apparatus and richly illustrated, and gives occasion for an assessment.

From today's point of view, this text allows conclusions about the state of science and medical history, of neurobiology, philosophy, artificial intelligence, and other sciences and arts in the 1990s, with these proving to be of remarkable actuality. Always having been interested in science history, technologies, and apparatuses, and how they form and deform the social and individual body, particularly the female one, or the subject in general, EXPORT's path from the 'Body Configurations' (1972-1982) to experiments in Expanded Cinema and structuralist film to her so-called 'Medial Anagrams' of the 1990s seems a logical consequence.

One of the numerous pivotal texts on this matter is provided by the lecture 'The Real and Its Double: The Body' which, with its examination of the 'virtual body' through figures like Unica Zürn, Danielle Sarréra and Mary Shelley, appears to initialise the compiling 1999 screenplay.

On the occasion of the artist's 80th birthday, the VALIE EXPORT Center invites to a journey through the history of the body and its future projections with a conference – with lectures, performances, screenings by: Christa Blümlinger, Christina von Braun, Diana Bulzan, Dorit Chrysler, VALIE EXPORT, Sabine Folie, Ulrike Grossarth, Karin Harrasser, Ira Konyukhova, Kristin Marek, Gloria Meynen, Marie-Andrée Pellerin, Salome Schmuki, Hito Steyerl, Nathan Stobaugh, Constanze Ruhm, Chor Mala Sirena, et al.

A conference of the VALIE EXPORT Center Linz. Conceived by Sabine Folie in cooperation with Dagmar Schink and Anna Fliri (organisation, realisation).

ANAGRAMMATIC BODIES
Hommage à VALIE EXPORT

Konferenz
14. – 15.05.2020
VALIE EXPORT Center Linz

1999 verfasst VALIE EXPORT ein Drehbuch mit dem Titel Der virtuelle Körper. Vom Prothesen- zum postbiologischen Körper, in welchem sie Erkenntnisse, Visionen und Projektionen zur Geschichte des (virtuellen) Körpers seit dem Mittelalter bis in die Gegenwart zu einem geplanten Filmessay zusammenstellt, dessen Realisierung allerdings aus Mangel an Finanzierung nicht zustande kommt. Nun liegt dieses Drehbuch editiert, mit einem umfangreichen Annotationsapparat und reich bebildert vor und gibt Anlass zu einer Bestandsaufnahme.

Der Text lässt aus heutiger Sicht Schlüsse zum Stand der Wissenschafts- und Medizingeschichte, zur Neurobiologie, Philosophie, Künstlichen Intelligenz und anderen Wissenschaften und Künsten in den 1990er Jahren zu und diese erweisen sich als erstaunlich gegenwärtig. Immer schon an Wissenschaftsgeschichte, Technologien, Apparaten interessiert und wie diese den gesellschaftlichen und individuellen, insbesondere den weiblichen Körper, generell das Subjekt, formen und deformieren, erscheint der Weg von den „Körperkonfigurationen“ (1972-1982) über die Experimente des Expanded Cinema und des strukturalistischen Films bis zu den von EXPORT so bezeichneten „Medialen Anagrammen“ in den 1990er-Jahren von logischer Konsequenz.

Einen der zahlreichen Schlüsseltexte dazu liefert der 1987 gehaltene Vortrag „Das Reale und sein Double: Der Körper“, der mit seiner Beschäftigung mit dem „virtuellen Körper“ unter anderem über Figuren wie Unica Zürn, Danielle Sarréra, Mary Shelley das kompilatorische Drehbuch von 1999 einleitet.

Aus Anlass des 80. Geburtstages der Künstlerin lädt das VALIE EXPORT Center im Rahmen einer Konferenz zu einem Streifzug durch die Geschichte des Körpers und seine Projektionen in die Zukunft ein – mit Vorträge und Rahmenprogramm von: Christa Blümlinger, Christina von Braun, Diana Bulzan, Dorit Chrysler, VALIE EXPORT, Sabine Folie, Ulrike Grossarth, Karin Harrasser, Ira Konyukhova, Kristin Marek, Gloria Meynen, Marie-Andrée Pellerin, Salome Schmuki, Hito Steyerl, Nathan Stobaugh, Constanze Ruhm, Chor Mala Sirena u.a.

Eine Konferenz des VALIE EXPORT Centers Linz. Konzipiert von Sabine Folie in Zusammenarbeit mit Dagmar Schink und Anna Fliri (Organisation, Durchführung).